WRCOG History

Created in 1969, Waccamaw Regional is one of 10 such regional agencies in the state of South Carolina, together making up the SC Association of Regional Councils. South Carolina’s first Councils of Governments were formed in 1967 when Governor Robert E. McNair signed legislation dividing the state into ten official planning districts.

Waccamaw Regional is known for the following:

  • Providing in-depth assistance to local government
  • Serving as the technical planning staff for numerous planning and zoning commissions
  • Assisting in securing and administering grant funds for local projects and services
  • Coordinating varied social services for the economically deprived.

To view the history of each county, please click a link below:
Georgetown County
Horry County
Williamsburg County

WRCOG Events
WRCOG News and Blog
Contact us
The Region

Follow Us

Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments

1230 Highmarket Street
Georgetown, SC 29440

Phone: (843) 546-8502

Web design by:
Three Ring Focus