Rural Planning Area

Rural Long Range Transportation Plan

Previous Public Input Opportunities

The Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments is updating its Rural Long Range Transportation Plan, which will provide a vision for the future of transportation systems in the rural planning area through the year 2045. An online interactive survey was conducted from August 14, 2023 – September 13, 2023, and three initial public input meetings were held to receive input for the Plan.

The meetings were held in each of the three counties:

Georgetown – August 28, 2023

Kingstree – August 29, 2023

Conway – September 6, 2023

Coming Soon:

Check back soon for more public input opportunities on the draft Long Range Transportation Plan.

WRCOG Rural Technical Committee (RTC)

Upcoming Meetings for 2024:

March 6, 2024 @ 10 am

June 5, 2024 @ 10 am

September 4, 2024 @ 10 am

December 4, 2024 @ 10 am

* All meetings will be hosted in person at the WRCOG main office, located at 1230 Highmarket Street, Georgetown SC, 29440, or virtually via Zoom.

What is Rural Planning?

Rural Planning involves developing and maintaining the Rural Long Range Transportation Plan (RLRTP), Rural Transportation Improvement Program (Rural TIP), Rural Planning Work Program (RPWP), and related planning studies and projects deemed necessary to address transportation issues in the rural planning areas of Georgetown, Horry, and Williamsburg counties.  These documents are available for download under “Rural Planning Publications and Work Products” listed below. Local transportation needs in the rural area are re-evaluated annually to prioritize projects.

What is the Rural Transportation Planning Area?

The rural area includes Southern and Western Georgetown County, Western Horry County and all of Williamsburg County. The local municipalities that fall into the rural area are: Andrews, Aynor, Greeleyville, Hemingway, Kingstree, Lane, Loris, and Stuckey. Please use the link below to see the Rural Planning Area boundary.

Rural Planning Area Boundary Map

Current Projects and Public Comment Notices:

FY 2023-32 Rural TIP Draft:

Revised RTIP Draft

Rural TIP Document


To sign up for Rural Planning email updates, send your name and email address to Kerri Kellahan at

Rural Planning Area Committees and Staffing

The Board of Directors also serves as the Policy Committee for the rural planning area. The Board is comprised of twenty–five (25) members representing the local governments in the WRCOG region. The Board meets regularly to establish policies and evaluate the needs for the region.  Please use the following link to see a list of the current WRCOG Board members: Board of Directors

The rural transportation program work of the Board is supported by the standing advisory committee referred to as the Rural Technical Committee (RTC). The RTC is made up of state, county, and city planning and engineering staff, which provide technical expertise in the development of transportation plans and programs for the rural area.  Please use the following link to see a list of the current Committee members: 2023 RTC Members.

The rural planning technical staff consists of professional planners and administrative staff, and supports the rural program work of the Board. On an ongoing basis the rural planning staff and RTC provide recommendations to the Board regarding short and long range planning, implementation of projects, and related issues. If you have any questions or comments about the Rural Program, please contact Kerri Kellahan at or 843-436-6256.

Rural Technical Committee Meetings (Committee meets quarterly)

Agendas Summaries
3/6/24 3/6/2024
12/13/2023 12/13/2023
9/13/2023 9/13/2023
6/15/2023 6/15/2023
3/08/2023 3/08/2023
12/14/2022 12/14/2022
9/14/2022 9/14/2022
7/20/2022 7/20/2022
 3/9/2022 3/9/2022
12/15/2021 12/15/2022
9/15/2021 9/15/2021
5/12/2021 5/21/2021
3/17/2021 3/17/2021
12/16/2020 12/16/2020
8/6/2020 8/6/2020
5/29/2020 5/29/2020

Rural Planning Publications and Work Products

FY 2022-2023 Rural Planning Work Program (RPWP)

Environmental Justice Plan

Long Range Transportation Plan

ADA Policy for Transportation Planning

RTIP Document 21-27

RTIP Spreadsheet 2021-2027

Public Participation Plan (PPP)

For more information about Title VI, please use the following link:

Title VI

County Government Links 

Georgetown County

Horry County

Williamsburg County

Useful Links

South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT)

Federal Transit Administration (FTA)

Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

Fixing America’s Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act)






WRCOG Events
WRCOG News and Blog
Contact us
The Region

Follow Us

Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments

1230 Highmarket Street
Georgetown, SC 29440

Phone: (843) 546-8502

Web design by:
Three Ring Focus